Menu Close

Traditional Colours and Symbols

Yellow rose

Black – eternity, remembrance
Blue – wishes for good health
Brown – Mother Earth, harvest
Dark green – bountifulness
Dark red – Harvest
Light green – spring, new growth, hope
Orange – strength, endurance
Purple – fasting, faith, patience, trust
Red – happiness, hope, passion
Royal blue – higher life, trust
White – purity, innocence, birth
Yellow – light, purity, youth, happiness, hospitality

Acorns – preparation for the future
Bees – hard work, industry
Deer, Horses, Rams – good health, wealth, prosperity
Drops – the fallen tears of Mary
Evergreen trees – eternal youth and health
Fish – Christianity
Lion – strength
Net – Christian symbol for ‘fisher of men’
Rakes and ladders – good husbandry, prosperity
Ribbons – everlasting life
Roses – love and caring
Storks, chicks, hens, roosters – fulfillment of wishes, fertility
Sun – growth, good fortune
Sunflowers – the warmth of the sun’s rays
Triangles – the Trinity; air, fire, water; Heaven, Earth, Hell;
sun, thunder, bonfire
Wheat – bountiful harvest
Wolves’ teeth – protection