Mostly Knitting

My New Book!

Explore

Home
About Me
Blog
Books & Reviews
Butterfly Looms
Contact
Crochet

Edwardian Spiritualism Scrapbook
Embroidery and Sewing
FAQs

Hairpin Lace FAQs
Knitting



Links
Misc Crafts
Photo Galleries
Podsafe Music
Privacy Statement

Recipes

Search
Singercraft Tool
Small Looms

Spinning

Tatting
Teneriffe Lace
Updates
Web Rings & Awards
Writing

Shop Here

Cafepress
Knitting Patterns
Wishlist

Support These

Weather

January 14, 2005

Some People Really Piss Me Off.

I have asked the owner of this website to remove my scarf pattern from her blog, but she has not replied or complied with my request.

If this type of thing pisses you off as much as it does me, please let her know.

I'm so sick of people thinking they can just take the content off my website and put it on theirs without asking.

Grrrr.

Addendum:
The pattern has been removed from the website.

Entry posted by Sarah at January 14, 2005 3:49 PM | TrackBack

Comments

Oh yeah, it pisses me off all right. But judging by the spam in the comments, "Mush" nor any of the other multiple bloggers actually care for their older posts. And they can't tell the difference between the sites knitting.about.com and knitting-and.com! Not an email address to be had anywhere, so I went to www.goblinbox.com and then to "contact me" which is a feedback form linked to feedback@goblinbox.com This "Mush" person seems to control the whole site. So I did a "whois". The site is hosted by Lisco http://site.lisco.com/ and I can even tell you her real name and probable address, but unfortunatly there's no direct email address for her. I used the feedback form to tell her she is in contravention of Lisco's Appropriate Use Policy (http://site.lisco.com/services/aupolicy.html) Usually an ISP has an abuse@ address to report such things, but I can't find reference to one on Lisco's site. You might have to use support@ instead.

Posted by: Jen at January 14, 2005 4:56 PM


I did report them to their ISP. We'll see if/how they reply.

Posted by: Sarah at January 14, 2005 5:39 PM


Hi there!

For what it's worth, I have added my two-penneth worth to these comments. As a fellow designer I live in fear of discovering this. It must feel really horrible!

Believe it our not, I was actually visiting today to obtain contact details for you so I could ask permission to link to your site!!! I am currently building a Crafting Forum, and would like to include some links to your patterns as I rememebr this site being a fabulous source.

Rest assured I WILL NOT steal any of the instructions, unlike some, but would like to include an image or two to entice people in. Is this permitted? Perhaps you'd be kind enough to reply to my email with a yes or no.

I'm sure you are far too busy to join another Forum, but if you would like to pop in to see how I intend using these links please feel free: http://uk.msnusers.com/TheSecretCorridor/

Please bear in mind this Forum is still under construction...hope to see you in there!

Posted by: The Secret Corridor at January 14, 2005 10:57 PM


She's removed it, as I suggested, sent me a narky email and reproduced mine on her site. Hmmmm. Do you think I upset her? Which bit was "rude"? Perhaps her using the pattern without seeking permission...

Posted by: Jen at January 15, 2005 11:58 AM


I was puzzled by her claim she didn't read the comment because it was on an old post. I get copies of all the comments posted at my knitting blog -- new or old (spam and non-spam)!

Posted by: lucia at January 18, 2005 10:52 AM


Lucia, so do I. She used Moveable Type, the same version as I do, so unless she has the notification switched off entirely, she's still going to get notifications for every comment made.

Posted by: Sarah at January 18, 2005 12:48 PM


Hello again,

I have not received a reply to my request to link to your site, and to include a picture to entice people in.

Could you please let me know if you mind, only you seemed very upset that someone linked to you without your permission, yet I've taken the trouble to ask but heard nothing?

Posted by: The Secret Corridor at January 18, 2005 9:29 PM


Post a comment

Verification (needed to reduce spam):

Powered by
Movable Type 3.33

 

 

© Sarah Bradberry. All rights reserved.
ABN: 73 548 786 649